Influence of Metal Electrode(Ag,Au,Pt) on the Dielectric and Electrical Properties of HfTaO Capacitors


Article Preview

HfTaO-based MOS capacitors with different top electrode (Ag、Au、Pt) were successfully fabricated by dual ion beam sputtering deposition (DIBSD). We presented the effect of different metal gate on the capacity, flat band voltage shift, leakage current and conduction mechanism. It has been found that the Pt-electrode capacitor exhibited the highest accumulation capacitance. In addition, the largest hysteresis loop in Pt/HfTaO/Si capacitor during the forward-and-reverse voltage sweeping from +2.5V to -2.5V was observed. The result indicates the presence of a large amount of fixed charges or oxygen vacancies exist in interface Pt/HfTaO, which is consistent with the prediction from Qf results. It is proved that even though Eot of the Pt-electrode capacitor is lower than that of the Ag, Au-electroded, and that of leakage current still has the smallest value at a high electric field due to Pt with a high enough work function Φms(Pt)=5.65eV.



Advanced Materials Research (Volumes 197-198)

Edited by:

Huaiying Zhou, Tianlong Gu, Daoguo Yang, Zhengyi Jiang, Jianmin Zeng




T. Yu et al., "Influence of Metal Electrode(Ag,Au,Pt) on the Dielectric and Electrical Properties of HfTaO Capacitors", Advanced Materials Research, Vols. 197-198, pp. 1757-1765, 2011

Online since:

February 2011




[1] Yee-Chia Yeo, Tsu-Jae King and Chenming Hu: J. Appl. Phys. Vol. 92 (2002), p.7266.

[2] M. Bosman, Y. Zhang, C. K. Cheng, X. Li, X. Wu, K. L. Pey, et al.: Appl. Phys. Lett. Vol. 97 (2010), pp.103504-1.

[3] Indranil De, Deepak Johri, Anadi Srivastava and C.M. Osburn: Solid-State Electron. Vol. 44 (2000), p.1077.


[4] Yee-Chia Yeo: Thin Solid Films Vol. 462-463 (2004), p.34.

[5] J. Liu, H. C. Wen, J. P. Lu and D. L. Kwong: IEEE Electron Device Lett. Vol. 26 (2005), p.458.

[6] C. Ren, H. Y. Yu, J. F. Kang, X. P. Wang, H. H. H. Ma, Yee-Chia Yeo, et al.: IEEE Electron Device Lett. Vol. 25 (2004), p.580.

[7] In-Sung Park, Taeho Lee, Hankyong Ko and Jinho Ahn: J. Korean Phys. Soc. Vol. 49 (2006), p.760.

[8] E. Atanassova , D. Spassov and A. Paskaleva: Microelectron. Eng. Vol. 83 (2006), p. (1918).

[9] M. Pecovska-Gjorgievich, N. Novkovski, E. Atanassova and D. Spasov: Proceedings of the 2004 IEEE International Conference on Solid Dielectrics Vol. 2 (2004), p.872.

[10] Jeong-Soo Lee, Daewon Ha, Yang-Kyu Choi, Tsu-Jae King and Jeffrey Bokor: IEEE Electron Device Lett. Vol. 24 (2003), p.31.


[11] Yasutaka Tsuda, Hideo Omoto, Katsuto Tanaka and Hisashi Ohsaki: Thin Solid Films Vol. 502 (2006), p.223.


[12] Midori Kawamura, Yuuki Inami, Yoshio Abe and Katsutaka Sasaki: Jpn. J. Appl. Phys. Vol. 47 (2008), p.8917.


[13] H. Frenzel, A. Lajn, M. Brandt, H. von Wenckstern, G. Biehne, H. Hochmuth, et al.: Appl. Phys. Lett. Vol. 92 (2008), pp.192108-1.


[14] Yuki Kita, Shinichi Yoshida, Takuji Hosoi, Takayoshi Shimura, Kenji Shiraishi, Yasuo Nara, et al.: Appl. Phys. Lett. Vol. 94 (2009), pp.122905-1.


[15] R. Singanamalla, H. Y. Yu, B. Van Daele, S. Kubicek and K. De Meyer: IEEE Electron Device Lett. Vol. 28 (2007), p.1089.

[16] L. Pantisano, T. Schram, B. O'Sullivan, T. Conard, S. De Gendt, G. Groeseneken, et al.: Appl. Phys. Lett. Vol. 89 (2006), pp.113505-1.

[17] M. H. Zhang, S. J. Rhee, C. Y. Kang, C. H. Choi, M. S. Akbar, S. A. Krishnan, et al.: Appl. Phys. Lett. Vol. 87 (2005), pp.232901-1.

[18] Xiongfei Yu, Chunxiang Zhu, M. F. Li, Albert Chin, A. Y. Du, W. D. Wang, et al.: Appl. Phys. Lett. Vol. 85 (2004), p.2893.

[19] Xiongfei Yu, Mingbin Yu and Chunxiang Zhu: IEEE Trans. Electron. Dev. Vol. 54 (2007), p.284.

[20] X. F. Zhang, J. P. Xu, C. X. Li, P. T. Lai, C. L. Chan and J. G. Guan: Appl. Phys. Lett. Vol. 92 (2008), pp.262902-1.

[21] C.X. Li, X.F. Zhang, J. P. Xu and P. T. Lai: Enhanced performance of Si MOS capacitors with HfTaOxNy gate dielectric by using AlOxNy or TaOxNy interlayer (2008 IEEE International Conference on Electron Devices and Solid-State Circuits., Univ. of Hong Kong 2008).


[22] Hyoungsub Kima, Paul C. McIntyre, Chi On Chui, Krishna C. Saraswat and Susanne Stemmer: J. Appl. Phys. Vol. 96 (2004), p.3467.

[23] E. Atanassova, A. Paskaleva, N. Novkovski and M. Georgieva: J. Appl. Phys. Vol. 97 (2005), pp.094104-1.

[24] Ching-Huang Lu, Gloria M. T. Wong, Michael D. Deal, Wilman Tsai, Prashant Majhi, Chi On Chui, et al.: IEEE Electron Device Lett. Vol. 26 (2005), p.445.

[25] T. Nagata, M. Haemori, Y. Yamashita, H. Yoshikawa, Y. Iwashita, K. Kobayashi, et al.: Appl. Phys. Lett. Vol. 97 (2010), pp.082902-1.

[26] Bogdan Golja and Armenag G. Nassibian: J. Appl. Phys. Vol. 56 (1984), p.3014.

[27] Xu-bing Lu, Kenji Maruyama and Hiroshi Ishiwara: J. Appl. Phys. Vol. 103 (2008), pp.044105-1.

[28] Chuan-Hsi Liu, Hung-Wen Chen, Shung-Yuan Chen, Heng-Sheng Huang and Li-Wei Cheng: Appl. Phys. Lett. Vol. 95 (2009), pp.012103-1.


[29] Shi-Jin Ding, Jun Xu, Yue Huang, Qing-Qing Sun, David Wei Zhang, Ming-Fu Li: Appl. Phys. Lett. Vol. 93 (2008), pp.092909-1.


[30] Todd G. Ruskell, Richard K. Workman, Dong Chen, and Dror Sarid: Appl. Phys. Lett. Vol. 68 (1996), p.93.

[31] Hyuk-Min Kwon, Won-Ho Choi, In-Shik Han, Min-Ki Na, Sang-Uk Park, Jung-Deuk Bok: Microelectron. Eng. (2010), in press.