Control of Shell Thickness in Silica-Coating of AgI Nanoparticles


Article Preview

Silica-coating of AgI nanoparticles with a Stöber method was carried out to find out reaction conditions for control of the shell thickness. The AgI nanoparticles were prepared from AgClO4 and KI with the use of 3-mercaptopropyltrimethoxysilane (MPS) as a silane coupling agent and dimethylamine (DMA) catalyst for alkoxide hydrolysis. The silica-coating was performed at 4.5×10-6-4.5×10-5 M MPS, 11-20 M water, 0.002-0.1 M DMA and 0.005-0.04 M tetraethylorthosilicate at AgI concentrations of 0.1-1 mM. Consequently, AgI-silica core-shell particles could be prepared with the use of 4.5×10-5 M MPS, 20 M water, 0.01 M DMA and 1 mM AgI. Silica shell thickness could be varied from 15 to 28 nm with an increase in the TEOS concentration from 0.005 to 0.04 M.



Advanced Materials Research (Volumes 29-30)

Edited by:

Deliang Zhang, Kim Pickering, Brian Gabbitas, Peng Cao, Alan Langdon, Rob Torrens and Johan Verbeek




Y. Kobayashi et al., "Control of Shell Thickness in Silica-Coating of AgI Nanoparticles", Advanced Materials Research, Vols. 29-30, pp. 191-194, 2007

Online since:

November 2007




[1] L. M. Liz-Marzán, M. Giersig and P. Mulvaney: Chem. Commun. (1996), p.731.

[2] S. M. Marinakos, D. A. Shultz and D. L. Feldheim: Adv. Mater. Vol. 11 (1999), p.34.

[3] V. V. Hardikar and E. Matijevic: J. Colloid Interface Sci. Vol. 221 (2000), p.133.

[4] S. R. Hall, S. A. Davis and S. Mann: Langmuir Vol. 16 (2000), p.1454.

[5] Y. Kobayashi, M. A. Correa-Duarte and L. M. Liz-Marzán: Langmuir Vol. 17 (2001), p.6375.

[6] G. Cho, B. M. Fung, D. T. Glatzhofer, J. -S. Lee and Y. -G. Shul: Langmuir Vol. 17 (2001), p.456.

[7] T. Tago, T. Hatsuta, R. Nagase, M. Kishida and K. Wakabayashi: Kagaku Kogaku Ronbunshu Vol. 27 (2001), p.288 (in Japanese).

[8] H. Wang, H. Nakamura, Y. Yao, H. Maeda and E. Abe: Chem. Lett. Vol. 30 (2001), p.1168.

[9] Y. Lu, Y. Yin, Z. -Y. Li and Y. Xia: Nano Lett. Vol. 2 (2002) p.785.

[10] C. Graf, D. L. J. Vossen, A. Imhof and A. van Blaaderen: Langmuir Vol. 19 (2003), p.6693.

[11] E. Mine, A. Yamada, Y. Kobayashi, M. Konno and L. M. Liz-Marzán: J. Colloid Interface Sci. Vol. 264 (2003), p.385.

[12] Y. Kobayashi, H. Katakami, E. Mine, D. Nagao, M. Konno and L. M. Liz-Marzán: J. Colloid Interface Sci. Vol. 283 (2005), p.392.

[13] Y. Kobayashi, M. Horie, M. Konno, B. Rodríguez-González and L. M. Liz-Marzán: J. Phys. Chem. B Vol. 107 (2003), p.7420.

[14] M. Giersing, T. Ung, L. M. Márzan and P. Mulvaney: Adv. Mater. Vol. 9 (1997), p.570.

[15] Y. Kobayashi, K. Misawa, M. Takeda, M. Kobayashi, M. Satake, Y. Kawazoe, N. Ohuchi, A. Kasuya and M. Konno: Colloids Surfaces A Vol. 251 (2004), p.197.


[16] Y. Wang, J. Mo, W. Cai, L. Yao and L. Zhang: Mater. Lett. Vol. 56 (2002), p.502.

[17] D. Nagao, Y. Kon, T. Satoh and M. Konno: J. Chem. Eng. Japan Vol. 33 (2000), p.468.