Valve-Less Diaphragm Micropump with Electromagnetic Actuation


Article Preview

In this paper, a micropump with electromagnetic actuation is presented. The micropump mainly consists of coil actuators and a PDMS micropump layer. The microcoil was fabricated using the printed circuit board (PCB) with the conventional PCB treatment and the PDMS layer was formed by casting technique. A control circuit was designed using microcontroller to produce square waves to control coil actuator. Due to the simple fabrication process, the micropump can be incorporated in a disposable PDMS lab-on-a-chip device as a fluid actuation component. However, the coil actuator is reusable. In addition, the control circuit makes the micropump portable. The experiment results show that this proposed micropump is capable of delivering a flow rate of 470 μL/min using one coil actuator.



Edited by:

Tingting Wang




Y. J. Chang et al., "Valve-Less Diaphragm Micropump with Electromagnetic Actuation", Advanced Materials Research, Vol. 647, pp. 929-934, 2013

Online since:

January 2013





[1] A.F. Sauer-Budge, P. Mirer, A. Chatterjee, C.M. Klapperich, D. Chargin and A. Sharon: Lab Chip Vol. 9 (2009), p.2803.


[2] Y. -N. Yang, H. -I Lin, J. -H. Wang, S. -C. Shiesh and G. -B. Lee: Biosens. Bioelectron. Vol. 24 (2009), p.3091.

[3] S. Julich, M. Riedel, M. Kielpinski, M. Urban, R. Kretschmer, S. Wagner, W. Fritzsche, T. Henkel, R. Möller and S. Werres: Biosens. Bioelectron. V0l. 26 (2011), p.4070.


[4] D.J. Laser and J.G. Santiago: J. Micromech. Microeng. Vol. 14 (2004), p. R35.

[5] P. Woias: Sens. Actuator B-Chem. Vol. 105 (2005), p.28.

[6] X. Wang, S. Wang, B. Gendhar, C. Cheng, C.K. Byun, G. Li, M. Zhao and S. Liu: Trac-Trends Anal. Chem. Vol. 28 (2009), p.64.

[7] M. Marczak and H. Diesinger: J. Appl. Phys. Vol. 105 (2009), p.124511.

[8] J. Kang and G.W. Auner: Sens. Actuator A-Phys. Vol. 167 (2011), p.512.

[9] E. Bertarelli, A. Corigliano, A. Greiner and J.G. Korvink: Microsyst. Technol. Vol. 17 (2011), p.165.

[10] Q. Gong, Z. Zhou, Y. Yang and X. Wang: Sens. Actuator A-Phys. Vol. 83 (2000), p.200.

[11] K.H. Kim, H.J. Yoon, O.C. Jeong and S.S. Yang: Sens. Actuator A-Phys. Vol. 117 (2005), p.8.

[12] H. -L. Yin, Y. -C. Huang, W. Fang and J. Hsieh: Sens. Actuator A-Phys. Vol. 139 (2007), p.194.

[13] H. -T. Chang, C. -Y. Lee, C. -Y. Wen and B. -S. Hong: Microelectron. J. Vol. 38 (2007), p.791.

[14] M.L. Cantwell, F. Amirouche and J. Citerin: Sens. Actuator A-Phys. Vol. 168 (2011), p.187.

[15] O.C. Jeong and S.S. Yang: Sens. Actuator A-Phys. Vol. 83 (2000), p.249.

[16] A. Ishida, M. Sato, W. Yoshikawa and O. Tabata: Smart Mater. Struct. Vol. 16 (2007), p.1672.

[17] J. Zou, X.Y. Ye, Z.Y. Zhou and Y. Yang: Proceedings Intl. Symp. Micromechatronics and Human Science (1997), p.231.