Two Excited State Structures of Donor-Acceptor Substituted "Proton Sponge"


Article Preview

Photoexcitation of “proton sponge” 1,8-bis (dimethylamino) naphthalene (DMAN) leads to charge transfer (CT) emission. This work demonstrates that substitution of DMAN with a strong electron acceptor group (CN) results in CN-DMAN and leads to a stronger orbital decoupling between the Donor and Acceptor groups and to a more effective CT process (λF = 630 nm). The theoretical absorption spectrum calculated for CN-DMAN using the ZINDO method on its ground state ab initio [HF/6-31G(d)] optimized geometry reproduces a better experimental spectrum than that calculated using the RCIS method. It also shows that AM1 excited state (1La) optimization reveals two quasi-degenerated states with anti-quinoidal (A) and quinoidal (B) structures and the CT nature. Both structures may contribute more or less equally to the fluorescence of CN-DMAN in a solution.



Key Engineering Materials (Volumes 277-279)

Edited by:

Kwang Hwa Chung, Yong Hyeon Shin, Sue-Nie Park, Hyun Sook Cho, Soon-Ae Yoo, Byung Joo Min, Hyo-Suk Lim and Kyung Hwa Yoo




A. Szemik Hojniak et al., "Two Excited State Structures of Donor-Acceptor Substituted "Proton Sponge"", Key Engineering Materials, Vols. 277-279, pp. 1060-0, 2005

Online since:

January 2005




[1] F.J. Hibbert: J. Chem. Soc. Perkin. Trans. Vol. 2 (1974), p.1862.

[2] R.W. Alder: Chem. Rev. Vol. 89 (1989), p.1215.

[3] A. Corma, S. Iborra, I. Rodriguez and F. Sanchez: J. Catal. Vol. 211 (2002), p.208.

[4] O.V. Vinogradova, A.F. Pozharskii and Z.A. Starikova: Russ. Chem. Bull., Int. Ed. Vol. 52 (2003), p.208.

[5] H. Einspar, J.B. Robert, R.E. Marsh and J.D. Roberts: Acta Cryst. Vol. B29 (1973), p.1611.

[6] M. Perakyla: J. Org. Chem. Vol. 61 (1996), p.7420.

[7] S.T. Howard and J.A. Platts: J. Org. Chem. Vol. 63 (1998), p.3568.

[8] S.T. Howard: J. Am. Chem. Soc. Vol. 122 (2000), p.8238.

[9] E. Grech, Z. Malarski and L. Sobczyk: Chem. Phys. Lett. Vol. 128 (1986), p.259.

[10] T. Głowiak, Z. Malarski, L. Sobczyk and E. Grech: J. Mol. Str. Vol. 270 (1992), p.441.

[11] E. Grech, Z. Malarski, W. Sawka-Dobrowolska and L. Sobczyk: J. Phys. Org. Chem. Vol. 12 (1999), p.313.

[12] H.A. Staab and T. Saupe: Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. Engl. Vol. 27 (1988), p.865.

[13] F.J. Hibbert and J. Emsley: Adv. Phys. Org. Chem. Vol. 26 (1991), p.255.

[14] A. Szemik-Hojniak, J.M. Zwier, W.J. Buma, R. Bursi and J.H. Van der Waals: J. Am. Chem. Soc. Vol. 120 (1998), p.4840.


[15] A. Szemik-Hojniak and I. Deperasińska: J. Mol. Str. Vol. 526 (2000), p.219.

[16] A. Szemik-Hojniak, J. Herbich, G. Balkowski, G.W.H. Wurpel, W.J. Buma and J.H. Van der Waals: In preparation.

[17] A. Szemik-Hojniak, W. Rettig and I. Deperasińska: Chem. Phys. Lett. Vol. 343 (2001), p.404.

[18] N.N. Vistorobski and A.F. Pozharskii: Zhur. Org. Khim. Vol. 25 (1989), p.2154. Title of Publication (to be inserted by the publisher).

[19] M.J. Frisch, G.W. Trucks, H.B. Schlegel, G.E. Scuseria, M.A. Robb, J.R. Cheeseman, V.G. Zakrzewski, J.A. Montgomery, Jr., R.E. Stratmann, J.C. Burant, S. Dapprich, J.M. Millam, A.D. Daniels, K.N. Kudin, M.C. Strain, O. Farkas, J. Tomasi, V. Barone, M. Cossi, R. Cammi, B. Mennucci, C. Pomelli, C. Adamo, S. Clifford, J. Ochterski, G.A. Petersson, P.Y. Ayala, Q. Cui, K. Morokuma, D.K. Malick, A.D. Rabuck, K. Raghavachari, J.B. Foresman, J. Cioslowski, J.V. Ortiz, A.G. Baboul, B.B. Stefanov, G. Liu, A. Liashenko, P. Piskorz, I. Komaromi, R. Gomperts, R.L. Martin, D.J. Fox, T. Keith, M.A. Al-Laham, C.Y. Peng, A. Nanayakkara, M. Challacombe, P.M. W. Gill, B. Johnson, W. Chen, M.W. Wong, J.L. Andres, C. Gonzalez, M. Head-Gordon, E.S. Replogle and J.A. Pople: Gaussian 98, Revision A. 9 (Gaussian, Inc., Pittsburgh, PA, 1998).

[20] HyperChem. Computation Chemistry (Publication HC50-00-03-00, Hypercube, Inc., 1996).

[21] M.J.S. Dewar, E.G. Zoebish, E.F. Healy and J.P. Stewart: J. Am. Chem. Soc. Vol. 107 (1985), p.3902.

[22] A.F. Pozharsky, G.G. Alexandrov and N.V. Vistorobski: Zhur. Org. Khim. Vol. 27 (1991), p.1536.

[23] J.R.J. Platt: Chem. Phys. Vol. 17 (1949), p.484.

[24] K.A. Zachariasse, M. Grobys, Th. von der Haar, A. Hebecker, Yu.V. Il'czev, Y.B. Jiang, O. Morawski and W. Kuhnle: J. Photochem. Photobiol. A. Vol. 105 (1997), p.373.


[25] S. Jiang and D.H. Levy: J. Phys. Chem. A. Vol. 106 (2002), p.8590.

[26] K. Rotkiewicz, W. Rettig, N. Detzer and A. Rothe: Phys. Chem. Chem. Phys. Vol. 5 (2003), p.998.

[27] S. Zilberg and Y. Haas: J. Phys. Chem. A. Vol. 106 (2002), p.1.

[28] L. Belau, Y. Haas and W. Rettig: Chem. Phys. Lett. Vol. 364 (2002), p.157.

[29] K. Rotkiewicz, K.H. Grellman and Z.R. Grabowski: Chem. Phys. Lett. Vol. 19 (1973), p.315.

[30] G.C. Jas and K. Kuczera: Chem. Phys. Vol. 214 (1997), p.229.

[31] L.D. Betowski, M. Enlow and L. Riddick: Computers and Chemistry. Vol. 26 (2002), p.371.

[32] A. Szemik-Hojniak, I. Deperasińska, W.J. Buma, G. Balkowski, A.F. Pozharsky and N.V. Vistorobskii: In preparation.


[33] W.J. Buma, G. Balkowski, A. Szemik-Hojniak and I. Deperasińska: In preparation.

[34] A. Szemik-Hojniak, I. Deperasińska, W.J. Buma, Z. Hong, G. Balkowski, A.F. Pozharsky and N.V. Vistorobskii: In preparation.