Preparation of ZSM-5 Zeolite Membranes by Combined Hydrothermal Synthesis and Electrophoretic Deposition


Article Preview

The preparation of a ZSM-5 zeolite membrane on porous stainless steel disk by hydrothermal synthesis with electrophoretic deposition (EPD) as a seeding method was investigated. Micron size ZSM-5 crystal powder was seeded by EPD on the support disk by using ZSM-5 powder dispersed in ethanol. The seeded amounts were easily controlled by the deposition time during EPD. The membrane after secondary growth had a low amount of zeolite in comparison with the in situ seeding method and the permeance of single gas such as He, N2 and CO2 was also low in comparison with that of the in situ seeding method.



Edited by:

A.R. Boccaccini, J.H. Dickerson, B. Ferrari, O. Van der Biest and T. Uchikoshi




H. Negishi et al., "Preparation of ZSM-5 Zeolite Membranes by Combined Hydrothermal Synthesis and Electrophoretic Deposition", Key Engineering Materials, Vol. 654, pp. 47-52, 2015

Online since:

July 2015




* - Corresponding Author

[1] M. Abdollahi, S.N. Ashrafizadeh, Preparation of zeolite ZSM-5 membrane by electrophoretic deposition method, Micropor. Mesopor. Mater. 106 (2007) 192–200.


[2] A. Zampieri, A. Dubbe, W. Schwieger, A. Avhale, R. Moos, ZSM-5 zeolite films on Si substrates grown by in situ seeding and secondar crystal growth and application in an electrochemical hydrocarbon gas sensor, Micropor. Mesopor. Mater. 111 (2008).


[3] J. Choi, S. Ghosh, Z. Lai, M. Tsapatsis, Uniformly a-oriented MFI zeolite films by secondary growth, Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. 45 (2006) 1154-1158.


[4] K. Kusakabe, T. Kuroda, A. Murata, S. Morooka, Formation of a Y-type zeolite membrane on a porous alpha-alumina tube for gas separation, Ind. Eng. Chem. Res. 36 (1997) 649-655.


[5] J. Hedlund, S. Mintova, J. Sterte, Controlling the preferred orientation in silicalite-1 films synthesized by seeding, Micropor. Mesopor. Mater. 28 (1999) 185-194.


[6] S. Li, V.A. Tuan, J.L. Falconer, R.D. Noble, Separation of 1, 3-propanediol from aqueous solutions using pervaporation through an X-type zeolite membrane, Ind. Eng. Chem. Res. 40 (2001) 1952-(1959).


[7] G.T.P. Mabande, G. Pradhan, W. Schwieger, M. Hanebuth, R. Dittmeyer, T. Selvam, A. Zampieri, H. Baser, R. Herrmann, A study of silicalite-1 and Al-ZSM-5 membrane synthesis on stainless steel supports, Micropor. Mesopor. Mater. 75 (2004) 209-220.


[8] S. Haag, M. Hanebuth, G.T.P. Mabande, A. Avhale, W. Schwieger, R. Dittmeyer, On the use of a catalytic H-ZSM-5 membrane for xylene isomerization, Micropor. Mesopor. Mater. 96 (2006) 168-176.


[9] A.R. Boccaccini, I. Zhitomirsky, Application of electrophoretic and electrolytic deposition techniques in ceramics processing, Current Opin. Solid State Mater. Sci. 6 (2002) 251-260.


[10] T. Mohammadi, A. Pak, Making zeolite A membrane from kaolin by electrophoresis, Micropor. Mesopor. Mater. 56 (2002) 81-88.

[11] T. Seike, M. Matsuda, M. Miyake, Fabrication of Y-type zeolite films by electrophoretic deposition, Solid State Ionics, 151 (2002) 123-127.


[12] J. White, P. K. Dutta, K. Shqau, H. Verweij, Synthesis of zeolite L membranes with sub-micron to micron thicknesses, Micropor. Mesopor. Mater. 115 (2008) 389-398.


[13] A. Berenguer-Murcia, E. Morallon, D. Cazorla-Amoros, A. Linares-Solano, Preparation of thin silicalite-1 layers on carbon materials by electrochemical methods, Micropor. Mesopor. Mater. 66 (2003) 331-340.


[14] H. Negishi, M. Okamoto, T. Imura, D. Kitamoto, T. Ikegami, Y. Idemoto, N. Koura, T. Sano, H. Yanagishita, Preparation of tubular silicalite membranes by hydrothermal synthesis with electrophoretic deposition as a seeding technique, J. Am. Ceram. Soc. 89 (2006).


[15] H. Negishi, K. Sakaki, T. Ikegami, Silicalite Pervaporation Membrane Exhibiting a Separation Factor of over 400 for Butanol, Chem. Lett. 39 (2010) 1312-1314.


[16] W. Schwieger, Habilitation thesis, Martin-Luther-Universität Halle-Wittemberg, Halle, (1994).

[17] Abhijeet Avhale, PhD Thesis, Erlangen Department of Chemical Reaction Engineering. (2010).