Physical Properties of Li2Pd3B and Li2Pt3B Superconductors


Article Preview

Superconductivity in two Li-containing compounds of Li2Pd3B and Li2Pt3B was recently discovered. These materials, showing the superconducting transition at 7.2 K and 2.6 K, respectively, have the same cubic structure (P4332) composed of distorted octahedrons without mirror or inversion symmetry along any directions. This is a very interesting feature of those materials in relation to the symmetry of superconductivity. Resistivity measurements in magnetic fields gave their upper critical fields, Hc2(0) = 45 kOe and 19 kOe, respectively. Their specific heat was measured using a heat-pulse relaxation method. The Sommerfeld coefficient (γ) and Debye temperature (θD) terms of Li2Pd3B were given as γ=9.5 mJmol-1K-2 and θD=228 K . The value of C/γT at Tc was calculated to be 1.7. In the same manner, those parameters were described for Li2Pt3B as γ=9.6 mJmol-1K-2, θD=240 K, and C/γTc =0.75, respectively. Since C/γTC in the weakcoupling limit by the BCS theory is 1.43, the value of 1.7 for Li2Pd3B is slightly higher. The electronic specific heat of Li2Pd3B at a zero magnetic field follows the typical exponetial behavior discribed in the BCS theory, while that of Li2Pt3B shows quadratic behavior. This result suggests the line nodes exist in the superconducting gap of Li2Pt3B driven by the spin-orbit interaction.



Materials Science Forum (Volumes 561-565)

Main Theme:

Edited by:

Young Won Chang, Nack J. Kim and Chong Soo Lee




H. Takeya et al., "Physical Properties of Li2Pd3B and Li2Pt3B Superconductors", Materials Science Forum, Vols. 561-565, pp. 2079-2082, 2007

Online since:

October 2007




[1] G. Profeta, A. Continenza, F. Bernardini and S. Massidda: Phys. Rev. B Vol. 65 (2002), p.054502.

[2] H. Rosner, A. Kitaigorodsky and W. E. Pickett: Phys. Rev. Lett. Vol. 88 (2002), p.127001.

[3] K. Togano, P. Badica, Y. Nakamori, S. Orimo, H. Takeya and K. Hirata: Phys. Rev. Lett. Vol. 93 (2004), p.247004.

[4] H. Takeya, K. Yamada, K. Yamaura, T. Mochiku, H. Fujii, T. Furubayashi, K. Hirata, K. Togano: Physica C Vol. 426-431 (2005), p.411.


[5] F. Izumi, R. A. Dilanian, in: Commission on Powder Diffraction, IUCr Newslett., No. 32, 2005, p.59.

[6] E. Bauer, G. Hilscher, H. Michor, C. Paul, E. W. Scheidt, A. Gribanov, Y. Seropegin, H. Noël, M. Sigrist and P. Rogl: Phys. Rev. Lett. Vol. 92 (2004), p.027003.


[7] H. Takeya, K. Hirata, K. Yamaura, K. Togano, M. El Massalami, R. Rapp, F. A. Chaves and B. Ouladdiaf: Phys. Rev. B Vol. 72 (2005), p.104506.


[8] H. Q. Yuan, D. F. Agterberg, N. Hayashi, P. Badica, D. Vandervelde, K. Togano, M. Sigrist and M. B. Salamon: Phys. Rev. Lett. Vol. 97 (2006), p.017006.

[9] M. Nishiyama, Y. Inada and G. -q. Zheng: Phys. Rev. Lett. Vol. 98 (2007), p.047002.