Papers by Keyword: High Impact Polystyrene (HIPS)

Paper TitlePage

Authors: E.H. Agung, S.M. Sapuan, M.M.H. Megat Ahmad, H.M.D.K. Zaman, U. Mustofa
Abstract: Differential scanning calorimetry (DSC) was used to study the thermal behaviour of abaca fibre reinforced high impact polystyrene (HIPS) composites. Thermal analysis is based upon the detection of changes in the heat content (enthalpy) and the glass transition temperature (Tg) of optimum condition of abaca fibre reinforced HIPS composites. In this research, glass transitions temperature (Tg) of neat HIPS occurred below the Tg of optimum condition of composites as the temperature of an amorphous state. The endothermic peak of composites was in to range 430-435°C including neat HIPS and it observed that enthalpy of abaca fibre reinforced HIPS composites yielded below the neat HIPS 748.79 J/g.
Authors: T. Kuboki, Toshio Mada, Kazuhiko Takahashi
Authors: E.H. Agung, S.M. Sapuan, M.M.H. Megat Ahmad, Dahlan Khairul Mohd. Zaman, U. Mustofa
Abstract: In this paper, the hardness property of abaca (Musa textile Nee) fibre reinforced high impact polystyrene (HIPS) composites with maelic anhydride (MAH) used as coupling agent and styrene butadiene styrene (SBS) copolymer rubber (Cyclo resin) used as impact modifier was investigated using response surface methodology.. The composites were initially fabricated using a rolling machine and finally using a hot press machine to obtain a desired thickness. These samples were then tested for Brinell hardness test. A statistical approach of response surface methodology was used to obtain the interaction between various compositions mentioned above for abaca fibre reinforced HIPS composites. The BHN (Brinell hardness number) was analyzed using response surface methodology (Box Behnken method).
Authors: J. Holst, M. Straßburg, N.N. Ledentsov, L. Eckey, A. Göldner, Andreas Hoffmann, T. Hempel, D. Rudloff, F. Bertram, J. Christen, A.V. Sakharov, M.V. Maximov, A.S. Usikov, W.V. Lundin, B.V. Pushnyi, Z.I. Alferov
Authors: Dale Brown, Don McGrath, Matthew Nielsen, Nicole Krishnamurthy, James W. Kretchmer, Mario Ghezzo
Showing 1 to 6 of 6 Paper Titles